Read it in Books #1

images (3)

I love books, not just reading them but holding them, enjoying looking at the covers and reading the blurb. Most of all, I love the mystery that unravels at the turn of a page.  I couldn’t own a Kindle, I’d feel like a traitor to my best friends; silly I know, but there you go.

I don’t remember being taught to read at school. I just remember the teachers being amazed at how quickly I could read new words and plough through books. Later in my school days they’d be amazed at how shit I was at everything else, hey you can’t have it all!

In my blog, I’ll share will you my favourite books, thoughts on why I like certain authors and if I get the courage I’ll post the chapters of my latest novel as I complete them.

Let’s start at the beginning though shall we?

The Once and Future King – T.H White 

 

download

This was the first book I ever devoured from cover to cover. I was around thirteen years old, I’d read loads of books, but this one was a turning point in my reading pleasure.

The Once and Future King was the story of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. It was the original (and best) game of thrones without the tits and ice.

The story tells of how Wart (Arthur) meets Merlyn who gives him a very different sort of education; turning Wart into a bird of prey, a fish and an ant. Why did he do this? To teach him about social groups and the order of things and it makes perfect sense to me. Could you imagine that today! OFSTEAD would have a fit at such unethical teaching  practices. Turning children into creatures would never make it to the curriculum even if it were possible, imagine the health and safety breaches!!

At times it was hard reading for me, there were lots of deep messages about relationships and such that I didn’t understand; for a children’s book it was very deep and dark. I think that’s why I loved it. I hadn’t read anything so fanciful before and the way it was written just appealed to me.

The second half of the book was particularly tricky, the harsher side of life, love and responsibility came to the fore and it didn’t seem as comforting in the latter chapters. The end of the book is terribly sad and I remember sobbing for ages until I decided to read it again almost instantly.

It’s a lovely book with great tales and important messages of kindness, loyalty and love. I’ve read it many times since and I would highly recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

